Winners Announced for Inaugural Devour Excellence Awards

The Devour Culinary Classic debuted the inaugural Devour Excellence Awards at this year’s event, showcasing Arizona’s culinary talent and bringing deserved attention to our state’s culinary leaders. A diverse panel of judges representing prestigious organizations and publications from across the country were on site to determine 2017 award winners. Both Saturday and Sunday restaurant participants were reviewed for selection in the following categories: Excellence in Innovation, Excellence in Taste, and Excellence in Presentation, with Excellence in Distinction being given to one candidate overall. The results of the awards follow:

Devour Culinary Classic Excellence Awards Results: Saturday

Excellence in Taste: Tamara Stagner, Helio Basin Brewing Company, Smoked Bison Taquito with Epazote Cream

Runners Up, Excellence in Taste: Todd Allison, T. Cooks at Royal Palms, Sea Bass Atsade Desta, Cafe Lalibela

Excellence in Presentation: Jared Porter, Clever Koi, Chilled Scallop Sno Cone

Excellence in Innovation: Taylor Domet, True Food, Torched Avocado

Devour Culinary Classic Excellence Awards Results: Sunday

Excellence in Taste: Jason Atford, Roka Akor, Short Rib with Black Garlic

Runner Up, Excellence in Taste: Bernie Kantak, The Gladly, Brown Butter Tuna Crudo

Excellence in Presentation: Aaron Chamberlin, St. Francis, “Caulipops

Excellence in Innovation: Jada Shiya, Churn, Banana Split on a Stick

Excellence in Distinction (Overall)

The overall favorite to win the Excellence in Distinction Award over the 2-day event was the Bison Taquito from Tamara Stagner of Helio Basin Brewing Company.

Congratulations to all of our standout restaurants and chefs! We believe a congratulations is also in order for Phoenix, and Arizona, for another display of our supreme culinary talent that we are proud to host here. Cheers, and we look forward to seeing you in 2018!